Down South!

Today I thought I’d talk about my trip to Cornwall, home of the pasty! It’s a beautiful place towards the bottom of the country filled with cute little sea-side towns. Wherever you go you’re surrounded by the countryside and you come away feeling detoxed. Me and my family would go there all the time when I was younger, and this year we stayed in a huge manor house in Polperro. The town was so tranquil and full of quirky independent shops and cafes, anywhere you visit in Cornwall is so picturess.

IMG_8142

We went with my dad’s side of the family, which meant there was 29 of us all together, including 6 toddlers… Yes, it was tricky to cook for everyone and keep track of where everyone was going but I wouldn’t have it any other way, I love being around my family. Cornwall isn’t a place where you plan activities it’s more of a walk around and take everything in kind of holiday, which was perfect because we were so lucky with the weather, it hit 32 degrees while we were there!

IMG_8146

I didn’t manage to take too many photos while we were there because you forget when you’re enjoying yourself so much. The manor we stayed in looked amazing from the outside and the grounds were huge and gorgeous, it even had a jacuzzi, the inside was kind of dated and needed and bit of renovating, but it is what I imagine a true cornish cottage would look like inside. My aunties cooked most of the meals while we were there, they make the best food, all homemade and delicious. But on the last night we just had fish and chips to avoid cleaning in the morning, I tried my first ever battered sausage, not the best thing I’ve ever ate…

IMG_8155.JPG

Of course we visited St.Ives, and this may be an unpopular opinion but I think it’s overrated, nevertheless I went. The journey was awful. Me and my nan were sat in the back of my uncles campervan for 2 hours on the hottest day of the year. My mum and dad had to go home for my sister’s graduation so they couldn’t take us in the car. When we got there everyone wanted to go to the beach and I hate the beach and I hate being too hot so I sat in the shade until my nan suggested we should go for an ice-cream:)

IMG_8169

The best day of the holiday had to be the first, we just strolled around Polperro and floated in and out of shops, I bought my mum a cup she liked and my dad a coaster, he loves fish.

FullSizeRender (1)

The worst day had to be the one when I was ill, I mentioned it in my last post. It really ruined the day out and I felt so bad, I don’t like making a fuss.

IMG_8156.JPG

Overall it was a great trip, I got to spend some time with my family and also relax and forget all of my worries for a week. I would really recommend Cornwall if you’re feeling stressed and want to get away from it all.

IMG_8157.JPG

Have you been on holiday this year? Gracie x

Leave a Reply

